About

Our Mission

The mission of the International Packaged Ice Association is to promote the growth and superior business practices for the packaged ice industry through the ongoing development and management of standards and value added services that enhance the image of the industry to the consumers and trade-partners. IPIA will achieve these objectives through proactive leadership directed by priorities set by its member companies.

Officers

Chairman
Dann Ades
Cold Star Ice

3640 Francis Avenue
Chino, CA 91710

Vice Chairman/Treasurer:
Jeff Tyler
Tyler’s Super Quality Ice

1839 Gentry Parkway
Tyler, TX 75702

Secretary/Assistant Treasurer:
David Bryant
The Ice Man

5849 Commonwealth Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32254

Associate Member
Conference Chairman:

Don Hutton
Cascades Flexible Packaging, Inc.

7280 West Credit Avenue
Mississauga, ON L5N 5N1

Immediate Past Chairman:
Tommy Sedler
Home City Ice

6045 Bridgetown Road
Cincinnati, OH 45248

Directors

2017

Sean Odom
Ice Plant, Inc
(800) 638-5220
sodom@iceplant.net

Fred Smagorinsky
Arctic Glacier Inc.
(201) 674-0236
fsmagorinsky@arcticglacier.com

2018

Howard Mackie
Zippy Ice
(980) 355-9851
howard@zippyicecompany.com

Jarrod Snyder
York Ice Company
(717)848-2639
jarrod@goodtimeice.com

Chris Morse
Getchell Brothers Ice
(800) 439-2823
Chirs.morse@getchellbros.com

2019

Dave Jones
Reddy Ice
(214) 526-6740
djones@reddyice.com

Jeff Messerschmitt
Messerschmitt Ice Service
(641) 684-6207
icejeff@mchsi.com

Committees

Marketing Committee

Provides direction and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for marketing and projects promoting the Association and its members.

Jeff Tyler/Chair
Tyler’s Super Quality Ice
(903) 597-8245
jeff.tyler@tylersice.com

Vincent Nuzzolese, Jr.
Nuzzolese Brothers Ice
(631) 283-4060
vinnyjr@nuzzice.com

Bill Bentley
Ice World Journal
(301) 963-8600
billb@graphicvisions.com

Steve Ward
Arctic Glacier, Inc
(209) 495-8525
sward@arcticglacier.com

Gary Jerow
Modern Ice Equipment
(800) 543-1581
gjerow@modernice.com

Membership Committee

Acts as liaison with staff in developing membership services for current members and recruitment strategies for potential members.

Sean Odom/Chair
The Ice Plant
(800) 638-5220
sodom@iceplant.net

Raymond South
Keith Manufacturing
(541) 475-3802
rsouth@keithwalkingfloor.com

Walter Berry
Berry’s Arctic Ice
(785) 357-4466
berrystopekaice@sbcglobal.net

Don Hutton
Cascades Flexible Packaging, Inc.
(800) 406-0039
Don_hutton@cascades.com

PIQCS Standing Committee

Provides direction and promotion for industry-wide sanitation program development, effects liaison with the IPIA national public health consultant and acts as a voice for the industry in addressing local, regional and national health officials.

David Bryant/Chair
The Ice Man
(904) 384-2013
bryant@theicemanfl.com

Dave Jones
Reddy Ice
(214) 526-6740
djones@reddyice.com

Scott Sisler
Sisler’s Ice
(812) 756-6903
scott@sislerice.com

Bill Ellis
Cold Star Ice
(800) 759-4411
bellis@coldstarice.com

Chris Morse
Getchell Brothers
(800) 439-2823
chris.morse@getchellbros.com

John Smibert
North Star Ice
(519) 455-3690
j.ice@sympatico.ca

Brett Fletcher
Spring Water Inc
(800) 256-7711
brett@partyice.ca

Fred Lomangino
Ice King & Cold Storage
(800) 848-0272
fred@icekingandcoldstorage.com

Jarrod Snyder
York Ice Company
(717) 848-2639
jarrod@goodtimeice.com

Plant Operations

Provides current information relating to OSHA and other regulatory bodies on issues pertaining to the operation of an ice plant.

Jeff Messerschmitt/Chair
Messerschmitt Ice
(641) 684-6207
icejeff@mchsi.com

Kevin Desjardins
Keith Manufacturing
(800) 547-6161
kdesjardins@keithwalkingfloor.com

Jody Botner
Corbin Ice
(800) 253-1516
jodybotner@outlook.com

Tobi Ferguson
Vogt Ice
(800) 853-8648
tferguson@vogtice.com

Ed Churchwell
AC Ice
(800) 352-2423
ed@aciceco.com

Public Affairs Committee

Monitors all legislative and regulatory activity impacting the ice industry and its operations. The committee responds to the initiatives of the ice industry through contact with the Board of Directors, the general membership.

Dann Ades/Chair
Cold Star Ice
(909) 628-2105
dades@coldstarice.com

Bo Russell
Holiday Ice
(800) 924-5823
brussell@holidayiceinc.com

Darren Boruff
Reddy Ice Group, Inc
(214) 526-6740
dboruff@reddyice.com

Fred Smagorinsky
Arctic Glacier Inc
(917) 246-4101
fsmagorinsky@arcticglacier.com

Howard Mackie
Zippy Ice
(980) 355-9851
howard@zippyicecompany.com

Strategic Task Force Committee

Brent Bonvarlez/Chair
Arctic Glacier Inc
(519) 352-1400
bbonvarlez@arcticglacier.com

Darren Boruff
Reddy Ice
(214) 526-6740
dboruff@reddyice.com

Bob Morse
Getchell Brothers
(207) 989-7335
bob.morse@getchellbros.com

Dann Ades
Cold Star Ice
(909) 628-2105
dades@coldstarice.com

Charlotte Maginnis
Leer
(813) 505-1342
cmaginnis@leerinc.com

Tommy Sedler
Home City Ice
(800) 759-4411
tfsedler@homecityice.com

Bill Bentley
Ice World Journal
(301) 963-8600
billb@graphicvisions.com

Jane McEwen
IPIA
(800) 742-0627
jane@packagedice.com

Jeff Tyler
Tyler’s Super Quality Ice
(903) 597-8245
jeff.tyler@tylersice.com

Disaster Preparedness Committee

Plans and coordinates Disaster Preparedness Program for Association members

Archie Harris/Chair
Rose Ice & Coal Co.
(910) 762-2464
archie.harris@live.com

Bill Bentley
Ice World Journal
(301) 963-8600
billb@graphicvisions.com

Jane McEwen
IPIA
(800) 742-0627
jane@packagedice.com

Hall of Fame

wdt_IDYearNameCompanyLocation
1 2016 Jerry Counsell Mr. Ice Co. Ixonia, WI
2 2015 Brent Bonvarlez Arctic Glacier Inc. Chatham, ON
3 2014 Charlotte Maginnis Leer Inc. New Lisbon, WI
4 2013 Paul Hendler Saxony Ice Co. Mamaroneck, NY
5 2012 Gary Jerow Modern Ice Equipment and Supplies Cincinnati, OH
6 2011 Jane McEwen International Packaged Ice Association Tampa, FL
7 2010 Chuck Knowlton Arctic Glacier Ice Port Huron, MI
8 2008 Richard Thibault Arctic Glacier Ice Montreal, QC
9 2007 Wayne Henry, Sr. Jack Frost Ice Service Modesto, CA
10 2006 Dennis Menke DKAMDD dba Arctic Glacier Premium Ice West Point, IA


Berkoski IPIA Advocacy Award

wdt_IDYearNameCompanyLocation
1 2011 Bill Berkoski (posthumously) Berkoski Ice Southampton, NY
2 2012 Bob Morse Getchel Brothers Ice Brewer, ME
3 2013 Anson Merrick Home Ice Co. Rock Hill, SC
4 2014 Vincent Nuzzolese Nuzzolese Brothers Ice Hicksville, NY
5 2015 Dann Ades Cold Star Ice Chino, CA
6 2016 John Smibert North Star Ice London, Ontario